Thoughts From an Uncomfortable College Mattress

A journey through our college experiences and endeavors

Jumping Around in my Trampoline Room

And I ask him that with both feet planted firmly on love, you’ll be able to take in with all followers of Jesus the extravagant dimensions of Christ’s love. Reach out and experience the breadth! Test its length! Plumb the depths! Rise to the heights! Live full lives, full in the fullness of God.      Ephesians 3:15-19

When I was a senior in high school, my mom and I would get together and pray about where I would be going to college about once a week (at least when we remembered. Grace and peace). I had always liked these verses in Ephesians, and one particular week at school my government teacher told us a story that gave me a metaphor for the love of God that Paul is describing here. He said that in Bill and Melinda Gates’s house, there is a trampoline room.

That’s right. A trampoline room. Now I’m not talking a room that has a trampoline in it. I mean a room that is wall to wall, ceiling to floor, completely covered in trampoline. When I was praying with my mom the following Sunday, I connected Ephesians to a trampoline room. Christ’s love is just like this, only cooler.

In the trampoline room of God’s love, I am bouncing with a gentle ferocity. I am being flung in a thousand different directions. Each direction is another way that God’s love manifests itself in the world, and just when I think I understand the dimension of love that I am currently experiencing, I am suddenly hurtling away, but am in no way heading away from God’s love. I’ve just switched from experiencing the breadth to testing its length, from plumbing its depths to rising to its heights.

And the ride is wild

If you look closely at the above photo, you’ll see that all of the people are me. This is my self-portrait, made to palely imitate what I think the trampoline room is like.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Jumping Around in my Trampoline Room

  1. Nice Grace. Tomorrow Steven is not going to Bill Gates house, but he is going to a dodge ball arena in LA that is covered with trampolines floor to ceiling. I will share this with him. Me too. Will give me something to think about other than “I hope no one gets hurt”!

Leave a comment