Thoughts From an Uncomfortable College Mattress

A journey through our college experiences and endeavors

Chicken in America

I had a dream the other week that I immediately fell in love with:

My mother and another mother (who is unfamiliar to me) got into an argument. In order to settle said argument, they partook in a high stakes game of Chicken: Whomever’s child backed out first from the soon-to-be arranged marriage-lost.

My sister took me into a room and started to help me get into my wedding dress, which was a yellow and white checkered dress with a high waist and a beautiful hem. The white shoes that came with it were two sizes too big so I switched to a pair of brown oxfords. I coupled the odd shoes with a brown belt over where the dress gathered on my waist (I know I am being crazy specific, and I appologize for that, I just am amazed that I remembered this much from a dream!). My bouquet was composed of autumn colors and white roses. Needless to say, this whole ensemble was gorgeous.

My time came to walk down the makeshift aisle towards a man I had never met. When he came into view, I noticed he was wearing a suit that has been modeled after a peacock: his suit was light gray, his tie was a pale peacock feather print and his vest was light purple. It sounds a bit out there, but it totally worked for him.

I made it all the way to the alter before my groom finally uncle’d out and my mother won the disagreement.

Here is the thing about this dream, never ONCE did I feel like backing out of this arranged marriage. Not because I felt I owed it to my mother, not because I liked this guy, it was because I whole heartedly believed, at least in my dream state, that I could make this work. There is hope for me yet.

Just thought I would share this with you.

(P.S. If the title seems a little strange, it’s because I have done some research and concluded that most people are refered to our site because everyone google searches ‘America’. So if I include the word “America” in my title, maybe more people will read my post. Yes, I am aware I am genius!)

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Chicken in America

  1. This is awesome. And your logic behind the title is genius. You’re great. (:

Leave a comment