Thoughts From an Uncomfortable College Mattress

A journey through our college experiences and endeavors

Organizing Romance (Control Freak? Maybe)

So I have this system that I use to name the people who wander into my life (in a romantic fashion).  For instance, I have had a boyfriend, a fling, and a counterpart (There are more, but these are the simpler names to understand).  I have found that many people find this system strange/silly/foreign.  I am going to attempt to explain myself in a practical, well thought out manner.  My verbal explanations never seem to work out.  They usually begin with me tripping over my thoughts as they pile onto each other in a nonsensical heap of reasons and end with the person which I am speaking to looking utterly confused. So here goes my logical (I think) written explanation:

The standard word for a male-type person with whom you have a romantic relationship is boyfriend.  Right? Right.  Okay, so I did that for a while.  I had a boyfriend.  That came and went and when it ended, it just didn’t feel right for me to use that term for anyone else.  I had associated that particular person and the role he played in my life with that word.  I felt that if I used boyfriend for someone else, that it wouldn’t be fair to the person who originally held that title.  I would just be pushing a new person into a spot that someone else used to fill.  I don’t like the idea that every person that I have a relationship is called by the same name.  That person is not replaceable.  I can’t just erase past loves (or “likes”) from my personal history by bringing in someone new.  So I call them different names.  I use a system that makes sense to me and that I feel is fair to everyone who was part of my life.

Did I just make sense?  I hope so.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Organizing Romance (Control Freak? Maybe)

  1. SheriLane Vreugdenhil on said:

    Liz –

    This leaves me to wonder…do you call all of your friends “friends” or to you label them differently as well in order to provide them with the same “fairness” as you extend to your romantic relationships? I’m genuinely curious. 🙂

    Just wondering – SheriLane (Talley’s Sherilane in South Bend)

Leave a comment